The “NEW” Newspaper Publishers


Jackson Square in New Orleans

Jackson Square in New Orleans (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am getting ready to go to New Orleans, LA this week to attend Blackboard World 2012.  I am looking forward to it to find out all about some of the new features and plans Blackboard has to offer, and also to check out the vendors.  In preparing to go to Blackboard World 2012, I wanted to find out what to expect, and also wanted a site to share with any of my readers.  Most online newspapers these days carry the same content.  Rip it off the wire, add a quote or two, and publish it to the web.  Unfortunately, that means most folks get the same stuff from Walla Walla, Washington to Key West, Florida.  So I decided to publish my own online paper. That is where Twitter and Paper.Li enter the picture.

Paper.li allows you to “create” if you will, your own daily, twice daily or weekly only paper based on Twitter feeds, RSS feeds, and websites based on keywords.  It will pull content including articles, photos, and videos.  Best thing about it:  IT”S FREE!!!!  Now, I will not take up your time in this post to walk you through how it works, but I will share with you several self-published newspapers I follow.  Let me know what you think.

The Career Education Daily    – This daily paper covers Career and Technical news in Mississippi and is published by the Research and Curriculum Unit based at Mississippi State University.

The Blackboard Daily –  Published by Blackboard, it keeps you up with what is going on with the Blackboard LMS and other interesting education related articles.

RCU’s Blackboard World Daily – This paper is published by none other than me!  I wanted a way to let you guys keep up with what Michelle and I are doing at the conference.  It is a daily paper, and will be online until early August.

The Discovery Education Daily – This paper is published by the Discovery Education Network.  Good, fresh content that they have aggregated for you.

I am sure you will be able to find many more self published papers on Paper.Li that will meet your reading needs.  Please share them with us.  And WHEN you publish your own, please share that with me as well.

One thought on “The “NEW” Newspaper Publishers

  1. Pingback: Updating Publishing Schedules « Craig's Tech Blog

Leave a Reply

