Wrapping up Blackboard World 12


New Orleans Skyline

New Orleans Skyline (Photo credit: joseph a)

Well I am back home in Starkville, MS after a good week in New Orleans.  I will not try to mention everyone I had the pleasure to meet; if I did, I would still be naming them when I start my next post.  Suffice it to say that I appreciate all the insights and look forward to picking your brains more in the months to come.

I am looking forward to exploring BB Collaborate and Mobile in the months to come.  Also want to take a look at Atomic Learning to see if possibly there is a way to integrate their product into our system as we start utilizing Common Core Standards.

One vendor I particularly enjoyed visiting with was Sonic Foundry.  They are the producer of the Media Site lecture capture system.  I first found out about Media Site in 2007, and acquired a system later tha year. At that time, the unit was a huge all in one PC with the screen and all the capture peripherals included.  It was a bulky unit, but did great work.

But I found out this week that they are coming out with a software capture application that does just like the older unit, except it is contained on your laptop.  I am really looking forward to test driving this solution sometime in the fall.

As for tonight, it is time for me to get back to work.  I have three presentations next week at the Mississippi CTE Summer Conference in Jackson, MS.  Two of the presentations are with Health Science instructors and the topic is Using Twitter in the Classroom.  The third session is on Web.20 and free resources for Business Technology instructors.  I will post the presentations next week and would love to get some feedback and comments from you.

And finally, for any of you who sat in on our presentation at Blackboard World, if you have any Web 2.0 tools or resources you would like to share, please feel free to share with us.

Enjoy the weekend, and so long from The Big Easy.

Leave a Reply

