Tis the season for new computers


Jimmy Buffett performs during the Summerzcool ...

Jimmy Buffett performs during the Summerzcool Tour in June 2009. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Tonight I was sitting around watching the tv commercials for all the new computers and cell phones coming out.  After all, it IS the holiday season, right?  So I got to thinking, with all the new computers and stuff that will be coming into our lives, maybe we should take a few minutes to talk about how to back up your data, how to restore a machine if something goes wrong, and yes, even how to make sure your new phone gets the most out its battery.

Now I won’t lie to you.  The information I am going to share with you is not something I poured out of my brain onto this screen.  Nope…not gonna say it.  But I will say that the articles I am gonna point you too will be most helpful, and possibly show you some things that are so simple, that like the jitterbug, it plum evades you (and yes, I lifted that line from a Jimmy Buffett song).

The first thing to talk about is preparing for disaster.  Of course, this can be used with natural disaster as well, but I am thinking more about the “Ooooooh Fuuuudge” disasters we all find ourselves in from time to time.  This MakeUseOf article shares tips on backing up your data, and not necessarily the old-fashioned way of burning to multiple CD’s.  They are quick to point out the pro’s and con’s of each method.  Be sure to visit Aaron Couch’s website and thank him for the article.

Another item to think about when/if you get a new pc is cleaning your old pc up and passing it down.  The best way to do that is to read this MakeUseOf article on restoring your laptop to factory default.   Simple and straightforward, it will make the task of making your laptop good as new.  and trust me when I tell you it saves a lot of frustration if you ever get a virus on your machine.  Read the previous article mentioned here, and this one, and you have the data storage/retrieval and restore battle whipped.

Lastly, after you have installed and uninstalled new software on your machine, and played around, I mean TESTED new software applications on your machine, you will probably want to reset all startup programs to where they were originally, and clearing out non-existent files in the registry, check out this MakeUseOf article on Cleaning your PC.

Now I promised you something to help you with your new phone.  Well, I will keep my word.  Again, check out this MakeUseOf article on how to improve your battery life on an Android phone.  This might help you find some power eaters you were unaware of.

And lastly, if you have an old Android phone and you want to move your data to your laptop so you can retrieve it after you get your new phone, check out this MakeUseOf article on Airdroid.  I use this program all the time to transfer things from phone or tablet to pc, or vice versa.  The only caveat is that you must be on the same network for it to work.
I hope you find these articles helpful.  If you have any questions, comments or suggestions, feel free to drop me a line.  And be sure to follow me on Twitter @CraigJackson.

Leave a Reply

