What’s Up Wednesday


English: A tag cloud (a typical Web 2.0 phenom...

Catchy title for a post huh!!  Well, wasn’t really sure what to post today, but got some stuff nailed down and thought I would share it.

2013 MECA Agenda Set

As I mentioned earlier, I will be presenting at the 2013 MECA Conference in Jackson, MS in early February.  Currently, I am scheduled for three hands-on sessions.  The date, time and topics are as follows:

  • Tuesday  Feb 4 8 AM  How to Create an SMS Text Messaging System for Your School Using Cel.ly (Bonus points for bringing the instructor coffee!!)
  • Tuesday Feb 4 3:25 PM  How to Build a Social Media Network using Twitter, Cel.ly, Paper.li and WordPress (Bonus points for bringing the instructor water!!
  • Wednesday Feb 5 8:30 AM  How to Create an App for Your Classroom Using AppsBar  (Bonus points for showing up!!)

I will be arriving at the conference Monday Feb 3 and will be around the conference lobby area to visit with anyone who wants to talk about Web 2.0 tools or the hands on sessions, and I will be available in the evenings to answer questions as needed..  Also, I will be rolling out an app and a daily newspaper in the next 10 days for you to be able to follow my activities before, during and after the conference.

Let the reviewing begin

As I mentioned in December, I have been given the opportunity to begin demoing, evaluating and reviewing mobile devices.  Got my first assignment today:  The Windows Phone 8x by HTC.  Will be doing a box opening video in the next day or two to take a first look at what is inside the box, and what the phone looks like, just to whet your appetite.

Also have the opportunity to check out and review some utility software for you.  Will be checking out System Mechanic over the next few weeks, so check back for that review.

So keep watching, and be sure to tell your friends to as well.

Bringing back the DISK

Some of you may know that several year ago I put together a publication of Web 2.0 tools called the DISK, or Digital Immigrant’s Survival Kit.  This was a compilation of Web 2.0 tolls primarily for use by teachers in online classes.  Well, it seems that there are a lot more digital immigrants out there that are needing to put together their own survival kit.  So I will be refreshing the DISK, and sharing parts of it here from time to time, as well as possibly doing some webinars on various tools.  If you would be interested in participating in webinars, please drop me an email or leave a comment and we can see what can be put together.

Well that is about it for today.  Will be revamping the site just a tad in the next few days, but nothing major.

Thanks for taking time to read my blog.  Be sure to either CLICK HERE to follow my posts via RSS feeds, or scroll to the bottom of the page and click the “FOLLOW BY EMAIL” button.  In either case, I hope you come back and share the blog with others.  If there is anything you would like me to blog about, email me or leave a comment.

Thanks for your time.

One thought on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Pingback: Showtime!!! « Craig's Tech Blog

Leave a Reply

