Holy bitcoin, they’ve locked up my computer


New month, same story.  Ransomware is still a growing concern for folks.  I shared an article a couple of months ago, and told you about a friend who had gotten hit by ransomware.  Well, here it is August, and the computer is still locked, and pops up a reminder every time it boots up that files are encrypted unless the ransom is met.  And guess what…at this point, the link to pay the ransom does not work, so we are trying to work around it.

The point is, ransomware is currently a $24-$28 million dollar a year racket.  And it is growing.  There are ways to protect yourself against ransomware, and it is not as difficult as you would think.

Check out the article, and if you have been hit by ransomware, feel free to share your story in the comments area.

Oh yeah, in case you are wondering, ransomware is like vampires…it can not get onto your computer unless you invite it.  Bu that I mean, you have to click on an attachment, or click on a web button in order for it to infect your machine.  So please practice safe computing.

Source: Holy bitcoin, they’ve locked up my computer

One thought on “Holy bitcoin, they’ve locked up my computer

  1. Ransomware and I have a sorted past and I only got burned once. I now keep disk images that I restore when unfortunately hit with one. My attacks come more from being on the dark web than with attachments or links in email, but that’s the price I pay for being there in the first place. Only true way to avoid having to pay, is having a regular backup handy that isn’t attached to your computer at the time of the attack.

    Like

Leave a Reply

